FACULTY BUDGET COMMITTEE (FBC) ANNUAL REPORT AY24 Submitted June 14, 2024

Major Activities: The Committee's activities focused on how to strengthen the faculty role in budget decision making and oversight. To that end, we piloted various ways that we might engage with the administration and with the newly-formed unit-level Budget Committees. In addition to the activities listed below, the Chair participated in an end-of-year briefing on final Support Unit funding decisions and the almost-final FY25 budget, as well as preliminary meetings on "Budget 2.0" reforms that the administration is considering with the help of a steering committee (which includes the Faculty Senate Chair), and the Committee organized a "focus group" of faculty to discuss issues with the existing Budget model. The Committee explored various ways that we can provide support to these unit-level committees and established a framework for Committee leadership to promote consistency and allow the Committee accrue knowledge and gain ability to influence decisions when helpful, and we set some standing engagements that we plan to continue to build on in future years. Below we provide a summary of our activities in the past year, followed by a proposed calendar of meetings and oversight activities to be carried out by the Committee in future years.

AY24 Budget Engagements: In the fall, the Committee provided support for Support Unit Allocation process. Faculty Senate Chair Wayne Outten served as the sole faculty representative on the Support Unit Allocation Committee. In January, the Committee hosted via Zoom a budget process training course led by the University Budget Office, and including unit-level budget committee members from across the University. In the spring, the Committee participated in the Budget Blueprint process, attending 17 separate unit presentations to the Provost of budget status and goals and strategic planning. The Committee also hosted via Zoom a debrief meeting with unit-level budget committees.

Members

Elected

Matt Brown, College of Hospitality, Retail and Sport Management (2024)*
Mark Maltarich, Darla Moore School of Business (2025)
Kevin Lu, College of Pharmacy (2025)
Christie Martin, College of Education (2026)
Clinton Wallace, Chair, School of Law (2024)
Colleen Clark, School of Music (2024)

^{*} Prof. Brown is completing the term for another member of the committee who did not participate and was replaced mid-year. Prof. Brown will begin a new full three-year term in fall 2024.

Appointed

- ** Liam Hein, Committee Representative, College Of Nursing, College Of Nursing
- ** **Robert Brookshire**, Committee Representative, College Of Engineering And Computing, Integrated Information Tech (2024)
- **Shannon Means** [replacing Mary Alexander], ex officio, Division Of Academic Affairs And Provost, Office Of The Provost

Wayne Outten, College Of Arts And Sciences, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2025)

- ** **Nikos Vitzilaios**, Committee Representative, College Of Engineering And Computing, Mechanical Engineering (2024)
- ** **Philip Busbee**, Committee Representative, School Of Medicine Columbia, Mdc Pathmicro-immunology (2024)

Kelly Epting, ex officio, Division Of Administration And Finance, Budget Office

- ** Sarah Carroll, Committee Representative, Darla Moore School Of Business, Economics (2024)
- ** Peter Chametzky, College Of Arts And Sciences, School Of Visual Art Design (2026)**
- ** Audrey Korsgaard, Darla Moore School Of Business, Management (2024)
- ** **Sharon Gumina**, Committee Representative, College Of Engineering And Computing, Integrated Information Tech (2024)

Brian Habing, Committee Representative, Academic Affairs/provost, Psychology

** appointed members who need to be replaced for fall 2024 due to expiring terms or other obligations.

Looking ahead, Prof. Christie Martin has been acting as Chair-elect and will serve as Chair for 2024-25. The following year, 2025-26, Prof. Martin will remain on the Committee as past-Chair. Prof. Matt Brown (HRSM) began his service midway through AY24 to fill out the term of an absentee member. He will continue for a full three-year term in 2024-27. The Committee plans that Prof. Brown will serve as Chair-elect in 2024-25, and serve as Chair in 2025-26. The Committee has two additional newly elected members for AY 2025-27: Professor Varsha Kulkarni, Department of Physics & Astronomy, College of Arts and Sciences, and Toni M. Tores-Mcgehee, Exercise Science, Arnold School of Public Health.

AY25 Framework

August -

Organizing Meeting

Who: all members meeting (elected and appointed)

September -

Budget Training and Timeline –

University Budget Office budget process overview led by Kevin Russell (Budget Director) & Kelly Epting (Assoc. VP, Finance & Budget)

Who: FBC + Unit-Level Committees

October -

Briefing with Provost -

Budget Priorities and Strategy (meeting proposed and discussed for spring 2024 with Chris Yenky, did not happen so need to revisit ** Note: topic for 2024 should include Budget 2.0 plan and subvention adjustments)

Who: FBC + Unit-Level Committees

October / November -

Support Unit Allocation Process –

all elected Committee members review requests, hold one meeting to discuss, two representatives from Committee attend SUAC meeting.

Who: FBC elected members + Faculty Senate Chair

January –

Budget Blueprint Process pre-meeting

to discuss how the Blueprint Process works and how to engage with Unit/College leadership in preparation for Blueprint presentations

Who: FBC + Unit-Level Committees

March -

Budget Blueprint Meetings -

Who: at least 2 FBC elected representatives (FBC Chair when possible plus one other) at each meeting (hosted by Provost's office) + Faculty Senate Chair

April –

Budget Blueprint Debrief with Unit-Level Budget Committees

Who: FBC + Unit-Level Committees

May / June -

Year End Briefing (SUAC and Final Budget for FY26)

Overview funding decisions made based on based on SUAC recommendations from the fall, based on FY26 budget to be presented to Board of Trustees at June meeting. Who: University Budget Office + FBC Chair + Faculty Senate Chair

Respectfully Submitted, Clint Wallace